First stop: The Barn Roastery

Large open windows facing the street, simple grey/brownish wooden interior, an impressive 1955 Probat roasting machine… The Barn Roastery is my #1 stop for a caffeine fix in Berlin. It only opened in September last year – after I moved to the city, so I somehow feel like it’s “my” place. I’m quite the regular, but at the same time – due to work, and travels – I feel like I don’t visit as often as I’d like..

At first glance you might be forgiven for thinking the place is pretentious as hell – but I promise you it’s not – the no prams, no laptops, no toilets, no dogs signs aside (which I must admit I am thankful for), the staff, in their matching checked flannel shirts, is nothing but welcoming. Explaining to you the different (high quality) coffees and brew methods, no matter how blank you might be on the subject – they will take you seriously. Well, that’s the way it’s supposed to be you might add – and I guess you’re right, but it’s still far from like that in a lot of places.

The Barn is supposed to be a coffee tasting experience, you should think of it as a coffee lab, it’s all about the beans, the brew – and the minimalistic wood interior supports that. If you want to chat for hours in comfortable sofas with your friends you can do that elsewhere, and god knows there’s plenty of places like that in Berlin. Still, I always bring visiting friends & family to The Barn, and we do talk – about coffee.

I personally prefer their V60, which is usually brewed on their own specially sourced beans from micro-farms around the globe, but also sometimes on beans from English coffee roasters Square Mile. Once in a while you’ll be so lucky, however, as to find a bag of Tim Wendelboe beans sitting a little bit lonely on the back shelf – and then I always opt for the aeropress. They also fire up a chemical lab looking siphon, but I tried that brew method at Copenhagen’s  Coffee Collective once – and it’s not for me.

It’s not all about the drip coffees though. You’ll find amazing espressos; always a double shot, and you can add organic milk by the ounce – making a macchiato, cappuccino or latte, just not by those words.

And if you find fancy something on the side? There’s a small, but delicate, selection of sweets and savory treats. The brie and pear flute is always a safe bet.

You’ll might also be tempted by the V60 ceramic cups, Hario Woodneck’s, and other coffee equipment for sale, so there’s no reason as to why you can’t grab your favorite roast and make it at home. They might even order in something special just for you, I am very grateful for the Woodneck cloth filters I was able to pick up this weekend. My old one was turning bad, and now I can finally enjoy proper coffee at home too, it won’t stop me from regularly drinking a cup at The Barn though.

IMG_2941 IMG_2943 IMG_0196 IMG_1631

Please note that The Barn has two locations in Berlin, I am talking about the Roastery located on Schönhauser Allee 8. You’ll find the original branch on Auguststrasse 58, in Mitte.

Leave a Reply

